THE WEEKEND Drops Staggering Debut Mixtape

Posted by at 2011-04-24 | Views: 1712

Last week the R&B Canadian singer dropped off a few tracks on the web, making his name quite popular amongst the internet. Said to be anonymous, R&B singer The Weekend shocked us all with his stellar new mixtape, “House of Balloons” this week. His 9-song debut is a funky and appealing mixture of R&B, dubstep, and some indie samples. The tracks are surprisingly catchy for the albums overall twisted feel of an artist who just barley survived the sad and dark world of drug consumption. His somewhat conventional and smooth lyrics read:

“ Open your hand, take a glass / Don't be scared, I'm right here / Even though, you don't know / Trust me girl, you wanna be high for this “

The Weekend is slowly making a name for himself and I wouldn’t be surprised if you saw him collaborating with a few of your favorite artists in the near future. Rumor has it the new R&B artist is being mentored by Drake himself and producer/partner Noah “40″ Shebib. I guess that explains the wallowing voice of the R&B singer, much similar to Drake; however, it may be Drake’s mentoring that has made these tracks so addicting.


1.) High For This

2.) What You Need

3.) House Of Balloons / Glass Table Girls

4.) The Morning

5.) Wicked Games

6.) The Party & The After Party

7.) Coming Down

8.) Loft Music

9.) The Knowing





More From Reviews | Back to Blog Home

blog comments powered by Disqus